The EYFS sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth through to five years old. It aims to provide quality & consistency in all early year settings, a secure foundation for all children for good progress through school & life, whilst strengthening partnerships between parents/ carers & practioners. It also ensures equality of opportunity for all children.


Prime Areas of Learning:

  • Communication and language

  • Physical development

  • Personal, social and emotional development

Specific Areas of Learning:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the world

  • Expressive arts and design

If you would like more information about the EYFS you can find some great resources for parents on the Foundation Years website here

You can also download a Parents guide to the Developmental Matters document which explains your child's development in relation to their age - What to expect, when?